ASIA’S FUTURE RE-IMAGINED

BUSINESS, COMMUNITY AND SOCIETY BEYOND THE PANDEMIC

A WORLD CLASS VIRTUAL CONFERENCE ON THE FORCES SHAPING ASIA’S FUTURE LIVESTREAMED THROUGHOUT ASIA AND BEYOND

21 – 24 SEPTEMBER 2021 

To be livestreamed across Asia and beyond, the Asian Forum on Enterprise for Society (AFES) 2021 will provide thought leadership on the forces shaping Asia’s future in a world re-shaped by Covid19.

AFES 2021 is an initiative led by two great Filipino institutions, the Asian Institute of Management Ramon V. Del Rosario Sr. Center for Corporate Responsibility and the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation, in strategic partnership with Asia Inc Forum.

One Focus. 11 powerful Conversations. 44 Business, Thought and Community Leaders.

TUESDAY 21 SEPTEMBER 2021

Manila
13:45 – 14:00

New Delhi
11:15 – 12:15

Jakarta
12:45 – 13:00

Beijing
13:45 – 14:00

Tokyo
14:45 – 15:00

New York
01:45 – 02:00

WELCOME TO AFES 2021

Video presentation followed by welcome remarks from:

  • AMB. JOSE L. CUISIA, JR., Chairman, AIM – Ramon V. Del Rosario Sr. Center for Corporate Responsibility Advisory Board
  • AURELIO LUIS R. MONTINOLA III, Chairman, Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation

Manila
14:00 – 15:00

New Delhi
11:30 – 12:30

Jakarta
13:00 – 14:00

Beijing
14:00 – 15:00

Tokyo
15:00 – 16:00

New York
02:00 – 03:00

ASIA’S FUTURE IN A POST PANDEMIC WORLD

Conversation with DR.PARAG KHANNA
Author of “The Future is Asian: Commerce, Conflict, and Culture in the 21st Century” (2019);
Founder & Managing Partner, FutureMap, Singapore

With AMB. TOSHINAO URABE, Trustee, Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation

Moderated by
BILL LUZ, Chief Resilience Officer at Philippine Disaster Resilience Foundation

Manila
15:15 – 16:15

New Delhi
12:45 – 13:45

Jakarta
14:15 – 15:15

Beijing
15:15 – 16:15

Tokyo
16:15 – 17:15

New York
03:15 – 04:15

THE FUTURE OF WORK AND THE SKILLS TO SUCCEED
How should this generation be educated?

Conversation with DR. DAVID H. AUTOR
Co-author of “The Work of the Future: Building Better Jobs in an Age of Intelligent Machines”
(2022); Professor of Economics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA

With ASHWEETHA SHETTY, Co-Founder, Bodhi Tree Foundation, India
and DR. ERIKA LEGARA, 2020 Outstanding Young Scientist Awardee by National Academy of Science and Technology, Philippines; Associate Professor, Asian Institute of Management

Moderated by
CHITO SALAZAR, President and CEO, PHINMA Education Holdings, Philippines

Manila
16:30 – 18:00

New Delhi
14:00 – 15:30

Jakarta
15:30 – 17:00

Beijing
16:30 – 18:00

Tokyo
17:30 – 19:00

New York
04:30 – 06:00

TECHNOLOGY, INNOVATION AND COMMUNITY
The Acceleration of Digitalization and AI will bring extraordinary efficiency gains but also much greater inequality.
Do you Agree or Disagree?

Conversation with

  • DR. CHRISTOPHER P. MONTEROLA, Professor and Head, Aboitiz School of Innovation, Technology, and Entrepreneurship (ASITE), Asian Institute of Management, Philippines
  • AIMI RAMLEE, Co-Founder & Director of Digital Innovation & Growth, Tyne Solutions, Brunei
  • DR. HARISH HANDE, CEO, Solar Electric Light Company (SELCO), India; 2011 Ramon Magsaysay Awardee
  • SHARON DAYOAN, Chairman & CEO, KPMG R.G. Manabat & Co., Philippines

Moderated by
PROF. DAVID GRAYSON,Chair, Institute of Business Ethics and Chair-Designate, Leonard Cheshire

WEDNESDAY 22 SEPTEMBER 2021

Manila
14:00 – 15:00

New Delhi
11:30 – 12:30

Jakarta
13:00 – 14:00

Beijing
14:00 – 15:00

Tokyo
15:00 – 16:00

New York
02:00 – 03:00

CHANGE
How to Make Big Things Happen

Conversation with DR. DAMON CENTOLA
Author of “Change: How to Make Big Things Happen” (2021); Director, Network Dynamics Group;
Professor in the Annenberg School for Communication, University of Pennsylvania, USA

With DR. DYNAH A. BASUIL, Professor and Executive Director, RVR Sr. Center for Corporate Responsibility, Asian Institute of Management, Philippines
and HIRO TIEN, Co-Founder of Viralspace, USA

Moderated by
DATO TIMOTHY ONG, Founder Chairman, Asia Inc Forum, Brunei

Manila
15:15 – 16:45

New Delhi
12:45 – 14:15

Jakarta
14:15 – 15:45

Beijing
15:15 – 16:15

Tokyo
16:15 – 17:15

New York
03:15 – 04:45

CHANGING ASIA
The Impact and Legacy of the Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation

Conversation with

  • DR. STEVEN MUNCY, Executive Director, Community and Family Services International; 2021 Ramon Magsaysay Awardee
  • DR. KRISANA KRAISINTU, Thai pharmaceutical scientist and champion for medical access for the poor; 2009 Ramon Magsaysay Awardee
  • MA JUN, Founding Director, Institute of Public & Environmental Affairs, China; 2009 Ramon Magsaysay Awardee
  • SONAM WANGCHUK, Founder and President of the Board, Students’ Educational and Cultural Movement of Ladakh (SECMOL), India; 2018 Ramon Magsaysay Awardee

Moderated by
EMILY ABRERA,Trustee, Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation

Manila
17:00 – 18:15

New Delhi
14:30 – 15:45

Jakarta
16:00 – 17:15

Beijing
17:00 – 18:15

Tokyo
18:00 – 19:15

New York
05:00 – 06:15

ENTREPRENEURSHIP FOR A BETTER WORLD
Re-imagining Business as Usual

Conversation with

  • BUNKER ROY, Founder, Barefoot College, India; Social Entrepreneur of the Year, Business Standard (2017)
  • SHAWN ASKINOSIE, Founder and CEO, Askinosie Chocolate, USA; Author of “Meaningful Work: The Quest to Do Great Business, Find Your Calling and Feed Your Soul” (2017)
  • RYAN GERSAVA, Founder, Virtualahan, Philippines; Recognized in 2021 in Forbes 30 Under 30
  • LOUISA GATHECHA, Co-Founder, Bottle Logistics East Africa Limited, Kenya

Moderated by
BRADLEY GOOGINS, Senior Fellow of the E4Impact Foundation and Strategy Professor in several E4Impact MBAs in Africa

THURSDAY 23 SEPTEMBER 2021

Manila
14:00 – 15:00

New Delhi
11:30 – 12:30

Jakarta
13:00 – 14:00

Beijing
14:00 – 15:00

Tokyo
15:00 – 16:00

New York
02:00 – 03:00

ENERGY TRANSITION
How to Power Growth and Preserve the Planet

Conversation with

  • CESAR ROMERO, President and CEO, Pilipinas Shell Petroleum Corporation; Chairman, Shell companies in the Philippines
  • TRI MUMPUNI, Founder and Executive Director, People Centered Business and Economic Institute (IBEKA), Indonesia; 2011 Ramon Magsaysay Awardee
  • JOHN ERIC FRANCIA, President & CEO, AC Energy Corporation
  • DR. RENARD SIEW, Co-Lead, Climate Change and Disaster Risk Reduction Group, Global Young Academy, Malaysia; Named one of Asia’s 21 Young Leaders by Asia Society (2018)

Moderated by
PRAE PIROMYA, Deputy Chief of Party of USAID Enhancing Equality in Energy for Southeast Asia, Thailand

Manila
15:15 – 16:15

New Delhi
12:45 – 13:45

Jakarta
14:15 – 15:15

Beijing
15:15 – 16:15

Tokyo
16:15 – 17:15

New York
03:15 – 04:15

RE-IMAGINING FINANCE
Strategies for Reaching the Unbanked and the Bottom of the Pyramid

Conversation with

    • DR. JAIME ARISTOTLE B. ALIP, Founder, Center for Agriculture and Rural Development –Mutually Reinforcing Institutions (CARD MRI), Philippines; 2008 Ramon Magsaysay Awardee
    • BRAD JONES, CEO, Wave Money, Myanmar
    • DR. MUHAMMAD AMJAD SAQIB, Founder, Akhuwat, Pakistan; 2021 Ramon Magsaysay Awardee
    • JESUS ANTONIO S. ITCHON, Vice Chairman and President, BDO Network Bank, Philippines

Moderated by
PATRICIA ANNE N. JAVIER-GUTIERREZ, Executive Director and Philippine Head of Corporate Communications, JPMorgan Chase & Co.

Manila
16:30 – 18:00

New Delhi
14:00 – 15:30

Jakarta
15:30 – 17:00

Beijing
16:30 – 18:00

Tokyo
17:30 – 19:00

New York
04:30 – 06:00

RE-IMAGINING GLOBALIZATION
COVID-19 has taught us that we need less Globalization. Do you Agree or Disagree?

Conversation with

  • RAMON R. DEL ROSARIO, JR., President and CEO, PHINMA Group, Philippines
  • DR. SANDY CHONG, Founder, Verity Consulting, Australia; US Stevie International Business Awards – Executive of the Year and Entrepreneur of the Year, 2020
  • ROSARIO CAJUCOM-BRADBURY, Board Member and Corporate Secretary, PhilippineSwiss Business Council; Board of Advisers, Wallace Business Group
  • CHANDRAN NAIR, Founder and CEO, Global Institute for Tomorrow, Hong Kong

Moderated by
BRADLEY GOOGINS, Senior Fellow of the E4Impact Foundation and Strategy Professor in several E4Impact MBAs in Africa

FRIDAY 24 SEPTEMBER 2021

Manila
14:00 – 15:00

New Delhi
11:30 – 12:30

Jakarta
13:00 – 14:00

Beijing
14:00 – 15:00

Tokyo
15:00 – 16:00

New York
02:00 – 03:00

HOW TO PREPARE FOR THE NEXT PANDEMIC
What have we learned from COVID-19?

Conversation with

  • DR. ADITI NERURKAR, Physician and Co-director, Clinical Clerkship in Community Development, Harvard Medical School, USA
  • DR. APARNA HEGDE, Founder and Chairperson, ARMMAN, India; Recognized by Fortune as one of the World’s 50 Greatest Leaders in 2021
  • DR. CHEN, CHIEN-JEN, Epidemiologist and Distinguished Professor, Genomics Research Center, Academia Sinica; Former Minister of Health and Vice President, Taiwan

Moderated by
PROF. DAVID GRAYSON,Chair, Institute of Business Ethics and Chair-Designate, Leonard Cheshire

Manila
15:15 – 16:30

New Delhi
12:45 – 14:00

Jakarta
14:15 – 15:30

Beijing
15:15 – 16:30

Tokyo
16:15 – 17:30

New York
03:15 – 04:30

OPPORTUNITY AFTER A CRISIS
How We can Create a Better, Brighter Future

Conversation with

  • ANDREW WEAR, Author of “Recovery: How We can Create a Better, Brighter Future after a Crisis” (2021); City Economist and Director of Economic Development & International, Melbourne, Australia
  • JAIME AUGUSTO ZOBEL DE AYALA, Chairman, Ayala Corporation, Philippines
  • SUSAN AFAN, President, Ramon Magsaysay Award Foundation, Philippines; Member of Board of Trustees, ABS-CBN Foundation Inc and Bayan Academy

Moderated by
DATO TIMOTHY ONG, Founder Chairman, Asia Inc Forum, Brunei

CUTTING EDGE CONVERSATIONS ON THE FORCES SHAPING ASIA’S FUTURE IN A POST PANDEMIC WORLD

Asia’s place in a post pandemic world

The future of work and education for the future

Technology, innovation, inequality and inclusion

How change happens

Entrepreneurship for a better world

What we learned from this pandemic and how to prepare for the next

The future of work and education for the future

Technology, innovation, inequality and inclusion

How change happens

Opportunity after a
crisis

Opportunity after a
crisis

Entrepreneurship for a better world

Copy link
Powered by Social Snap